Sunday, February 14, 2010

Google says sorry, making changes to Buzz after the Privacy concerns, feedback

We have been hearing lots of voices about the privacy concerns in the new Google Buzz. So Google has acted on it and making various changes to Buzz start-up experience. First is the auto-following that is , Buzz used to follow automatically active people from the Contact lists on the first use of Buzz. This had created lot of concern. So starting this week, instead of an auto-follow model in which Buzz automatically sets you up to follow the people you email and chat with most, Google is moving to an auto-suggest model


For those who have already started using Buzz, over the next couple weeks Google will be showing a similar version of this new start-up experience to give you a second chance to review and confirm the people you're following. If you want to review this list now, just go to the Buzz tab, click "Following XX people" and unfollow anyone you wish.

Other change its making is - Buzz will no longer connect your public Picasa Web Albums and Google Reader shared items automatically

Next change is its providing a Buzz tab to Gmail Settings. From there, you'll be able to hide Buzz from Gmail or disable it completely. This was requested by many.


“….We quickly realized that we didn't get everything quite right. We're very sorry for the concern we've caused and have been working hard ever since to improve things based on your feedback. We'll continue to do so…...”  Google posted on its blog.

These changes are not yet being reflected for buzz users and will be available over the next few days.

Fore more details Please check - A new Buzz start-up experience based on your feedback

No comments: